The APA-NC Awards Committee is pleased to announce the 2022 Award Winners. The APA-NC Awards Program includes NC Great Places and the Marvin Collins Planning Awards and recognizes the places, people, and projects that represent the highest standards of achievement in the North Carolina planning community. Awards are presented annually during the North Carolina Planning Conference. Nominations are reviewed by a panel of independent planners from throughout the state. The awards signify the highest standards of achievement for planning in North Carolina. 


Great Places for Public Art

Award: Town of Davidson Banner Project

Award: Greensboro Downtown Greenway

Award: The Clayton Sculpture Trail


Robert E. Reiman Professional Achievement

Award: John Hodges-Copple

Student (undergraduate and graduate)

Award: Leila Coe, East Carolina University

Award: Abe Krell, Appalachian State University

Award: Lauren Prunkl, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Student Project  (undergraduate and graduate)

Downtown Washington Parking Study

Comprehensive Plan (large and small)

Award for community of more than 25,000: 

Charlotte Future 2040 Comprehensive Plan

Award for community of less than 25,000:

Carrboro Connects, Town of Carrboro 2022-2042 Comprehensive Plan: Creating Community Together

Small Area Plan

The Capital North Corridor Plan: A Future of Choice (Raleigh)

Specialized Planning

Award: Connect Beyond Regional Mobility Initiative (Charlotte Region)

Honorable Mention: Pender Commerce Park 

Advancing Equity

Award: Crestdale Heritage Trail (Matthews)

Award: Town of Wake Forest and Northeast Community Coalition Partnership