The Committee is responsible for administering the APA-NC Awards Program, which includes NC Great Places Awards and Marvin Collins Planning Awards. These awards recognize the places, people, and projects that represent the highest standards of achievement in the North Carolina planning community. Awards are presented annually.

NC Great Places was established in 2012 to highlight North Carolina's Great Places and the communities and people that have created them. North Carolina is full of amazing places that make this state a wonderful place to live, bring important money and jobs into our economy, and keep our communities thriving. Many people work hard to sustain and improve these places, including citizens, planners, business leaders, and elected officials. This is a chance for everyone to celebrate together!

The chapter established a statewide awards program in 1975. Marvin Collins served as Planning Director for Orange County, North Carolina, and first developed the idea for a statewide awards program. He was a recipient of a Professional Achievement Award just prior to his death in 1998. His service to the planning profession in North Carolina was further honored posthumously in 2000 when the awards program was renamed in his honor on its 25th anniversary.

For more information on the APA-NC Awards Program contact:

Elizabeth Jernigan, AICP

Committee Co-Chair

City of Greensboro

Hannah Williams, CZO

Committee Co-Chair

City of Lenoir

Ashli Barefoot

Town of Leland

Chris Collins, AICP

City of Asheville

Jeff Hatling

Planner (Retired)

Matt Kirkendall

City of Statesville

Vanessa Lacer

Wilmington Urban Area Metropolitan Planning Organization

Chris Lawson

Town of Morrisville

Tim Richards, AICP

Town of Wake Forest

Jessica Rossi, AICP


Courtney Tanner, AICP, CZO

Town of Wake Forest