The APA-NC Legislative Committee is responsible for assisting Chapter members in legislative advocacy.  We work to promote positive planning-related legislation, develop productive relationships with legislators and strategic partners, and inform chapter members about proposed legislation.

Legislative Committee Vision Statement:

The APA-NC Legislative Committee will inform and equip North Carolina planners to better participate in the legislative process and build lasting relationships with strategic partners and the General Assembly in pursuit of beneficial planning legislation.  We will serve as an objective source of information on the anticipated impacts of proposed legislation, and will raise awareness of the value of planning in North Carolina communities.  We will provide assistance to planners and local governments in adapting to changes in planning-related legislation.

Leadership & Contact Information:

The Legislative Committee is a standing committee of APA-NC and is currently chaired by Chad Meadows, AICP. The Committee has a series of team leaders, each responsible for different committee activities.

Chad Meadows, AICP

Legislative Chair


Michael Zehner, AICP

Legislative Vice-Chair

Meet the rest of the committee here

The Legislative Committee is a group of dedicated planners working to promote quality planning and development in North Carolina.  We are always looking for new members to assist in the effort.  Please get in contact with the Chair or Vice Chair if you would like to join the Committee.