The APA-NC Awards Committee is pleased to announce the 2020 Award Winners. The APA-NC Awards Program includes NC Great Places and the Marvin Collins Planning Awards and recognizes the places, people, and projects that represent the highest standards of achievement in the North Carolina planning community. Awards are presented annually during the North Carolina Planning Conference. Nominations are reviewed by a panel of independent planners from throughout the state. The awards signify the highest standards of achievement for planning in North Carolina. 


Great Healthy Place

Award: Pedestrian Bridge, East Fork Road, Jamestown
Honorable Mention: 5401 North Planned Development, Raleigh

Great Street

Award: N. First Avenue, Knightdale

Great Transformation


Rocky Mount Mills, Rocky Mount
Library Story Park, Chestnut Street, Wilmington, NC (New Hanover County Timmons Group)




Citizen Planner

Award: Sue Perry-Cole, President and Executive Director, North Carolina Association of Community Development Corporations


Comprehensive Plan 

Honorable Mention: Davidson Comprehensive Plan (jurisdiction < 25,000) (Clarion Associates)


Small Area Plan 


Atlantic-Arlington Corridor Study, Rocky Mount (Ratio Architects, Inc.)

Downtown Master Plan and Parking Study, Apex (Stantec)

Honorable Mention: Renew Maple Avenue Corridor Plan, Burlington (Toole Design Group)



Award: N. Oakum Street Redevelopment Plan, Edenton (Holland Consulting Planners)




Asheville's Development Notification Tool
Union Streetscape Demonstration Project, Concord

Specialized Plan


Wake Forest Transportation Plan (WSP)

Moving Beyond Hunger: Wake County Food Security Plan (Community Food Lab)

Honorable Mention: Vision Holly Springs


Graduate Student

Award: Elizabeth Szuflita, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


Undergraduate Student

Award: Heather Mosesso, East Carolina University


Graduate Student Project

Honorable Mention: Bertie County Emergency Operations Plan, Victoria Bishop and Tristyn Daughtry, East Carolina University